First Post Ever…Super Bowl

Well I guess this is a blog. I need to be very clear from the onset — as much as I like the concept of this direct form of writing random thoughts or more thought out…thoughts, I don’t like blogs. They just sound really, really corny. So I’ve now said the word twice, and that’s it. No more. This will serve to be an outlet for “Between the Kraks” to run whenever, well, whenever I want, I guess.

For those who aren’t familiar, I’ve written a column off and on for the Daily Orange since Sept. 2002 under the header “Between The Kraks.” I’ll still be doing this (for the most part) every Thursday, so check it out in print or at the website. I’ll try to keep this interesting and updated often, but we’ll have to play it by ear. Hopefully this turns into a fun way of keeping in touch with others or simply allowing me to basically have an interior monologue with myself. Either way, I guess I’LL at least get something out of it. Hopefully you will too.

Alright, enough introduction. Enjoy the rest of the journal, or blah-g if you really want to call it that.

Tomorrow…Super Bowl Sunday. The biggest sports day of the year. Some serious storylines:

-First of all, the Rolling Stones are performing at halftime. Yeah — the British, decrepit, past-their-prime Rolling Stones. I think Jerome Bettis weighs more than the entire Rolling Stones combined. If I had the capital, I’d chip in to pay-per-view the Lingerie Bowl with Trishelle from Real World Vegas instead.

-The most exciting story coming out of the week-too-long reporter vacation leading up to the big game has to be the Joey Porter-Jerramy Stevens fued. Porter’s a superstar defender, Stevens is an average tight end — so maybe it’s not the biggest deal in the world. Stevens had just 500 yards and five touchdowns this year, hardly the best Seahawks representative for a trash talk session. But then again, the whole story is better than the other boring non-stop reporter’s wet dream about Bettis’ “return home.” Okay…he’s from Detroit. Isn’t that secondary to the fact that he’s in the Super Bowl? I’d hope that if the game were held in San Diego or Miami (which it should be, by the way) Bettis would try just as hard and be just as glad to have won the ring.

-Finally, there’s the fun sub-plot of the Super Bowl ads. So far we’ve got Leonard Nimoy and Jessica Simpson as part of the early reported action. I’ll go over some of the best ones on Monday…and if anyone’s reading this, shoot out your opinion too. I remember my favorite from last year was the Bodog ad, for obvious reasons.

…and speaking of Bodog, I’m taking the points and Seattle…final score Steelers 23, Seattle 20. And, lets just say I’m crossing my fingers that there’s a defensive touchdown in the game, preferably by Larry Foote, and Roethlisburger runs for 8 rushing yards. You know, for no particular reason.

2 Responses to First Post Ever…Super Bowl

  1. larryau says:

    Well, welcome to the world of blogging… I used to be like you and despised blogs very much. But, when i started blogging, i discovered that it is one of the best way to ‘mass-communicate’ with people all around the world and express yourself. Anyways, good luck :)!

  2. JBall says:

    OK guys, post season is over, it’s time to remember your wife or girlfriend. Maybe you better make up for ignoring her for most of January. How about a Valentines gift from 1-800-Flowers.com (http://www.1800flowers.com)

Leave a Reply

